CONCACAF Year-End Awards: Nominees and Projected Winners

4 of 7


Jul 1, 2014; Salvador, BRAZIL; United States goalkeeper Tim Howard (1) makes a diving save against Belgium during the round of sixteen match in the 2014 World Cup at Arena Fonte Nova. Belgium defeated USA 2-1 in overtime. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

CONCACAF has always produced great goalies, but never have I seen three ‘keepers who shone so brightly on the world stage come frome the same confederation.  Tim Howard, Keylor Navas, and Guillermo Ochoa all kept their national teams in the game during the World Cup, and were responsible for their sides making the round of 16.

Keylor Navas- Costa Rica/Real Madrid (Esp)

Patrick Pemberton- Costa Rica/ Alajuelense

Andre Blake- Jamaica/Philadelphia Union (USA)

Alfredo Talavera, Mexico/Toluca

Guillermo Ochoa- Mexico/Malaga (Esp)

Jesus Corona- Mexico/Cruz Azul

Jaime Penedo- Panama/LA Galaxy (USA)

Jam-Michael Williams- Trinidad & Tobago/Central FC

Nick Rimando- United States/Real Salt Lake

Tim Howard- United States/Everton (Eng)

Pick to Win:

Keylor Navas, Costa Rica.  (see: Player of the Year Description.)  Navas’s worth to Costa Rica cannot be overstated, but since I’ve already talked him up, it should be noted how impressively Tim Howard and Guillermo Ochoa performed.  Whether it be a shutout vs. host nation Brazil, or setting a World Cup Record for the most saves by a goalkeeper in the history of the statistic, both these CONCACAF mainland keepers were instrumental in Mexico and the USMNT emerging from the group stage.

Next: Coach of the Year