CONCACAF Year-End Awards: Nominees and Projected Winners

6 of 7


CONCACAF referees seldom make a splash outside their own confederation, but this year was a change in that as well as Mexico and United Stats both had prominent performances by their men in yellow internationally.

Oct 29, 2014; Dallas, TX, USA; MLS referee Mark Geiger gives Vancouver Whitecaps forward Sebastian Fernandez (7) a red card at the end of the game against FC Dallas at Toyota Stadium. FC Dallas beat Vancouver 2-1. Mandatory Credit: Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

The Nominees:

Wilson Da Costa- Bahamas

Henry Bejarano- Costa Rica

Walter Quesada- Costa Rica

Joel Aguilar- El Salvador

Walter Lopez- Guatamala

Dwight Royal- Jamaica

Marco Antonio Rodriguez- Mexico

Roberto Garcia Orozco- Mexico

Roberto Moreno- Panama

Mark Geiger- United States

Pick To Win:

Mark Geiger, United States.  He not only called blinder after blinder at the World Cup including a round of 16 game (France vs. Nigeria), but Geiger also had his best year as an MLS referee, with each breakout performance being followed up by another even more impressive outing.  Geiger called the MLS Cup Final this year, and was decisive and convicted in his calls, such as the game-deciding handball decision in the MLS Wildcard round: A call that won the match for FC Dallas, essentially. However, it was the right call.

Next: Goal of the Year